Elf on the Shelf & Mother of the Year

This is a busy time of the year. There’s tons of hustle and bustle in our house and all around. I spent the better part of yesterday trying to finish teacher presents and office presents, cooking dinner, doing homework with the kids, and trying to get a firm grasp on the laundry (I didn’t), so this post should come as a surprise to NO ONE.

I woke up promptly at 6:30 this morning after sleeping soundly last night. My blissful slumber delight was quickly erased when I realized I HAD NOT MOVED THE ELF.

Crap. Crap. Crap.

I scurried out of my bedroom to see if any of the kids were awake. Lyndie was sweetly asleep in my bed, cuddled up with my sexy husband. Joe and Riley were awake and playing downstairs.

Crap. Crap. Crap.

So I went downstairs as I do every morning and asked the boys where Elfred was. Joe said, “Mommy Elfred didn’t move!” Without missing a beat I told Joe that I was pretty sure that Elfred had just pranked us. That he had in fact moved, but came back to the exact same place so we would think he DIDN’T move. After a moment of contemplation, Joe started laughing and told me that he noticed that Elfred had moved a “tiny little bit” and he was SO funny.

Crisis averted. Told the other two the same story and they bought it hook, line and sinker.

Some may call me a great liar to my children, others might call me brilliant… I prefer to refer to myself as Mother of the Year… at least for today. That being said, I’m rather impressed that after 20+ days this is the first day I have messed up. WINNING!

Leave a Reply

